From flowers to food

Once upon a time, there was a girl who would eat out 6 times a week, and on the 7th day rest from food trucks and five star restaurants. She would blame this on the fact that she lived in one of the fattest cities in America, blame it on not wanting to make a mess in the kitchen, blame it on working late. Truth be told, her husband was never home for dinner and she was in a 4 year long pout about it.
Two years later, one divorce, and some major reflection time afterward…she’s rediscovered her love of making a HUGE mess of dishes in the kitchen.
That girl was me.
Now that I’m on my own I’ve had to relearn so many things… Including how to use the dishwasher!
One of the most important things that keeps me moving forward has been cooking. I don’t know about you, but I love experiences and food should be one of them. To this day, I can tell you I have four recipes that I’ve ever made more than once. Dinner should be an adventure. Every dinner. I hate leftovers. I hate replays of the same thing.
Four recipes I have ever repeated include peanut butter bacon cookies, oregano and garlic ribs, sweet and hot sauce for (any) meatloaf, and bacalitos.
Here’s to trying to grow my own food in the front yard (sorry neighbors… Feel free to grab a tomato or Pablano when you need it)!
Bon appetite friends and happy food adventures!

20130915-205301.jpg

20130915-205331.jpg

20130915-205349.jpg

20130915-205458.jpg

20130915-205528.jpg

20130915-205631.jpg

20130915-210617.jpg

Leave a Reply

